Jacksonville Jaguars Fan Forums

Full Version: Government Schools
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Six schools in Baltimore (5 high schools, one middle school) had ZERO students proficient in math or English.

http://foxbaltimore.com/news/project-bal...tate-tests
School choice, make them compete like the private sector the good ones thrive the bad ones close down.
Not surprised at all. It makes you wonder just what these kids are being taught at a younger age. English is basic. You should know it. By the time you've made it out of the 5th grade you should be pretty proficient at putting words and sentences together. I don't know how much has changed since I graduated in 2007.

But I can recall even my earlier years at Beauclerc Elementary here in Jacksonville that some of my favorite teachers were great at engaging the classroom. Especially when it came to reading and writing. We used to have that program where they wanted students to read a minimum of 25 books of 100+ pages throughout the year. You'd have a little sheet where you wrote the titles down and then you'd maybe get a little quiz or test on it to prove you didn't lie about reading it.

That went a very long way for us. We had to come up with our own story books and characters too. My favorite teacher. Ms. Story. She was my 3rd grade teacher. She encouraged all of us to read and write. It was fun the way she went about it. I'll never forget her and that class. And this was over 20 years ago.