Jacksonville Jaguars Fan Forums

Full Version: The proposed Unrealized Capital Gains Tax
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Since this is now being proposed, and a number of posters on the board seem to have a background in acct/finance, it would be interesting to hear some input.  On the surface, this sounds shaky at best, but I'm not a financial expert.   How would this work?  What would the length of time be for the proposed increase in 'gain'?  If your 'gain' becomes a loss, would you get a tax rebate or write off?  Would this cause wild swings in tax revenue, because of under or over-valuation?  What will be the standard for valuation?  If passed for billionares, will this eventually be levied against the thousand-aires like most of us probably are?
(10-27-2021, 02:06 PM)NewJagsCity Wrote: [ -> ]Since this is now being proposed, and a number of posters on the board seem to have a background in acct/finance, it would be interesting to hear some input.  On the surface, this sounds shaky at best, but I'm not a financial expert.   How would this work?  What would the length of time be for the proposed increase in 'gain'?  If your 'gain' becomes a loss, would you get a tax rebate or write off?  Would this cause wild swings in tax revenue, because of under or over-valuation?  What will be the standard for valuation?  If passed for billionares, will this eventually be levied against the thousand-aires like most of us probably are?

It’s nothing but posturing by the left. Wealthy politicians won’t let it happen.

I’m all for promoting it though. It’s a clear demonstration of what the democrats want to do to America: tax unrealized wealth and monitor your bank account.
Thousandaires don't have the liquidity to pay taxes on unrealized capital gains. Assets would require annual appraisals as well.. This is a moot point and red meat for a brainless base.