Jacksonville Jaguars Fan Forums

Full Version: 3D Printers
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Anyone have one?  I just recently bought an entry level one just to explore a bit.  I must say, these things are quite cool!  I'm still learning about the settings and using different materials, but it's amazing to me how you can just draw something up on your computer, and just create it.  I normally do that with electronics type stuff and a bit of programming, but to actually make objects just blows my mind.

How much did said entry level printer cost?

Quote:How much did said entry level printer cost?

$900 shipped (I am an Amazon Prime member).  There are lesser expensive options out there, especially if you choose to get one that is a "kit" where you have to actually build it and put it together.  I've had my eye on these machines for a while now.  In my opinion, they have come down in price enough to where an affordable machine could be had for a reasonable price.
How big of an object can it make? Serious question
I'm waiting for the day these things are massive and attached to cranes and sky scrapers get built that way

Quote:$900 shipped (I am an Amazon Prime member).  There are lesser expensive options out there, especially if you choose to get one that is a "kit" where you have to actually build it and put it together.  I've had my eye on these machines for a while now.  In my opinion, they have come down in price enough to where an affordable machine could be had for a reasonable price.
I used Prime Day to buy a 960GB SSD for $165. You used it to buy a 3D printer. Good choice on your part. Don't get me wrong, I am thrilled about my SSD, even if it is saddled with crappy TLC NAND, but a 3D printer is all kinds of more cool.