Jacksonville Jaguars Fan Forums

Full Version: Do we let Bryan Walters walk?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Walters has become a bit of a fan favorite, but I suspect the team doesn't need him anymore. I've felt this way ever since the last few games of the season when it appeared the team had phased him out of their packages. I realize Bryan has tremendous route running ability and hands with a knack for knowing precisely where the first down marker is, but he doesn't exactly possess world class speed to get downfield and he tends to stay put and fall down after the catch. Early on Walters ranked as one of the league's best #3 WRs, but by season's end it appeared he wasn't even in their top five. As a free agent I'm sure he'll attract a few teams so he may be rather expensive to sign as well.

In threads where we've discussed which free agents to bring back, Walters is typically among the front runners, but I don't see the Jaguars making a sincere enough effort to do so. As it stands without Walters, I like the current group going forward. The depth chart works out nicely...

<p style="margin-left:40px;">#1 WR (x) - Allen Robinson, Marqise Lee, Arrelious Benn

<p style="margin-left:40px;">#2 WR (z) - Allen Hurns, Rashad Greene (slot), Neal Sterling

<p style="margin-left:40px;"> 

<p style="margin-left:40px;">Others: Tony Washington, Rashad Lawrence, Shaq Evans, Damian Copeland and Rasheed Bailey

This team just doesn't need Bryan as much as some other teams probably do this offseason.

Of note, can we finally drop the deceptive "/WR" tag for DRob as he's obviously strictly a RB, and is it safe to say that Justin Blackmon will never play again in this league?

No.
Quote:No.
Agree. Keep Walters.
He was hurt more than "phased out," but there are younger guys with more upside already under contract at the position.

Unlikely he's given a contract, IMO.