Create Account

The Jungle is self-supported by showing advertisements via Google Adsense.
Please consider disabling your advertisement-blocking plugin on the Jungle to help support the site and let us grow!
We also show significantly less advertisements to registered users, so create your account to benefit from this!
Questions or concerns about this ad? Take a screenshot and comment in the thread. We do value your feedback.
Arecibo Radio Telescope collapses

I've been keeping up with this since a cable snapped a few months ago. It was deemed too dangerous to repair so it was officially decommissioned by the National Science Foundation, which then decided to come up with a destruction plan. Gravity intervened. 

Puerto Rico: Iconic Arecibo Observatory telescope collapses - BBC News

[Image: _115758800_gettyimages-1229890557-1.jpg]

We show less advertisements to registered users. Accounts are free; join today!

That's the cover story.  It was actually the work of MI6.

[Image: Arecibo-Observatory.jpg]
When you get into the endzone, act like you've been there before.

(12-01-2020, 03:27 PM)homebiscuit Wrote: I've been keeping up with this since a cable snapped a few months ago. It was deemed too dangerous to repair so it was officially decommissioned by the National Science Foundation, which then decided to come up with a destruction plan. Gravity intervened. 

Puerto Rico: Iconic Arecibo Observatory telescope collapses - BBC News

[Image: _115758800_gettyimages-1229890557-1.jpg]

Maybe they shuld repeal the lw of gravity LOL........ Seriously though, I read about thhis a few weeks ago and I knew it was an aging telescope but..... Never knew how serious it was
Me sarcastic? No couldn't be. I am much too dim witted to grasp the quaint subtleties of such potent mockery!!!

I’ve seen that thing collapsed a hundred times while playing Battlefield 3. Or was it 4? Though, I thought it was in China.

Either way that sucks. Even if it was decommissioned, sad to see it down.