Jacksonville Jaguars Fan Forums

Full Version: Where Were You (Announcement of Jags)?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
October of 1993. Where were when it was announced NFL owners voted for Jacksonville to get a team? How did you hear? What was your reaction?

My story:

At home of my best friend. I was a freshman at Mandarin. I had read in Times Union. I knew we were a finalist. I knew Charolotte had gotten one of the two spot. Everyone had said "it is going to be St Louis". I accepted that. My buddies parents were native Germans and very strict. So we are sitting in his bedroom talking about stuff generally when his mother says, "we got an NFL team?" from their living room. We heard her and just stared at each other. We turned on his tv in his room, with the analog bunny ears and the CBS affiliate is all sports and it just keeps repeating "they picked Jacksonville". Me and my friend just went flat nuts. Jumping and yelling. One of the happiest times of my life.
I was riding with my mom on the way to Winn Dixie. We heard it on the radio.

I remember winn dixie couldn't give tickets away..
#wastooyoungtoremember!
I was too young at the time but I remember when AOL was in its prime I wanted my screen name to be jaguar with any number combo behind it, but it didn't work, can't remember why either lol
I was floating in the western Pacific onboard an aircraft carrier with scant idea that Jacksonville, Florida even existed.
At home watching tv, channel 4 I think, and it was announced then mayor Austen came on TV super excited about it.

I was also pretty excited.
I was in California rooting for the 49ers at the time. I heard about the new teams, but back then I hadn't even heard of Jacksonville, Florida. I thought the new team was in Jackson, Mississippi. 
I was a sophomore in college (I think.)