Jacksonville Jaguars Fan Forums

Full Version: Well, It's Been A Good Ride
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
For those who have been around awhile, you know I am a stage 4 cancer patient. Well, long story short, I am now on a new insurance plan (Medicare). For those who are unfamiliar with the insurance, there are parts A, B, and a couple others (D,I think).  Starting in August, I begin Medicare. The problem with Medicare is it pays 80% of the medical bills, and the patient is left to pay the last 20%. I have been battling stage 4 kidney cancer for almost 3 years. The 2 main medications I take to keep the cancer at bay cost $4700 and $11,800, respectively. If that weren't bad enough, I am losing almost 300 dollars a month for the insurance.

So, what does this all mean? I don't have a snowball's chance in hell of paying my medical bills anymore. I was supposed to have another shoulder surgery in the next few weeks, but won't have the money to do that. I also won't have the money to keep paying for the essential medications that are keeping me alive. Barring a miracle, it looks like I am nearing the end of the line.

I don't know how to feel about it. My quality of life has been reduced to almost nothing over the past 3 years. I have been on disability for much of that time, and those funds are just enough to  pay the monthly bills. I don't have the money to do much of anything else. I am just existing. That's no way to live.

I have a couple social workers working on finding funding for my healthcare, but they said to not hold my breath.