Jacksonville Jaguars Fan Forums

Full Version: Clearing Up Misconceptions About Bills Fans and Doug Marrone
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hi everyone.  This is my first time posting here and as you probably can tell by my username I am a Buffalo Bills fan.  Please know that I'm not here to troll or stir up any stuff.   Also, I am pulling for the Jags to beat New England this week.  I am sick of Patriot fans and journalists and a loss to Jacksonville will really set them off.  

I did want to clear up a few things about Doug Marrone and Bills fans that I think some members here are missing.  It's true that Bills fans don't like Doug Marrone.  You have to understand that while Doug coached here in 2013 and 2014, from many media reports  he was known as a grumpy, short-fused, control freak who at time belittled people publicly.   He was not very popular around One Bills Drive and he treated the media very bad.  You can witness for yourself - at several press conferences, Doug is condescending when answering to any criticism.  He even tried to set up a private meeting with Tim Graham after a negative article in an attempt to keep him in line.  For his poor relations with the media, he continues to be mocked by the Buffalo media - though no one doubts his abilities as a coach.  

As a coach, I think many fans viewed him as good to average.  His biggest knock was his game management - specifically preferring to punt in situations late in the game.  Doug was extremely conservative and you can argue some of his decisions cost the team some wins in 2014.