Jacksonville Jaguars Fan Forums

Full Version: Job Offers. Do you negotiate? What's your policy?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
So I've received a job offer from a company and I was wondering how folks out there approach this. But first, a little background...

This is a new position for me and one that I have little to no experience in. I'm coming from a Design Engineer background and going into Technical Sales.

The only time I discussed compensation was a number I put on the company website when it asked for "Salary Requirement" and it was never discussed in any of the interviews.

The job offer I received pretty much nails that number and I've recently learned that it's lower than what a typical person makes in this position.

So... do you negotiate that number?

If it's what you asked for and you try to up it, you come out looking like a Cheney and probably cost yourself the job. That's why I never put a number in those things. If it won't let me proceed without one, I enter zeroes. It's too easy for that to become a, "Well I know the position usually pays $75,000 per year, but you said online that you were looking for $65,000," pain in the Nixon.

Depends what your position of negotiation is. If you have a job currently and you don't necessarily NEED this job, you have a little more leverage. If you are unemployed and need a job, you may not want to rock the boat.

Another factor to take into play is growth potential at the new company. Are merit increases small? Is it easy to move up? Will you be stuck around your starting salary for a long time? Is this job a springboard to another job?