Create Account

Board Performance Issues We are aware of performance issues on the board and are working to resolve them! The board may be intermittently unavailable during this time. (May 07) x

The Jungle is self-supported by showing advertisements via Google Adsense.
Please consider disabling your advertisement-blocking plugin on the Jungle to help support the site and let us grow!
We also show significantly less advertisements to registered users, so create your account to benefit from this!
Questions or concerns about this ad? Take a screenshot and comment in the thread. We do value your feedback.
Air BNB

I am planning a west coast trip for my family next spring. I have never used AirBNB before but when I look at the rates on the site, it looks to be less than staying at a hotel. And almost all of the properties offered have parking, multiple bathrooms and are in good locations.

So, my question is has anybody used the site before? How was your experience?

Thanks in advance.

We show less advertisements to registered users. Accounts are free; join today!

Did anyone see the story about the California woman who took on an AirBNB guest and now he's become a squatter? It may take 3-5 months to get him legally evicted. I saw it on TV so go find a link yourself.

The idea of staying in someone else's house doesn't appeal to me at all.

Yeah, I think that might be part of my hesitation. Although most of the properties I have looked at appear to be rental units.

You can rent just a room or an entire house. I would be doing the entire house. Just as an example, you can rent a 2 bedroom condo in Hollywood for under $200 a night. And it includes parking, washer/dryer, a kitchen. A hotel room in the same area costs about the same, or more, without the amenities.

Quote:Yeah, I think that might be part of my hesitation. Although most of the properties I have looked at appear to be rental units.