Create Account

The Jungle is self-supported by showing advertisements via Google Adsense.
Please consider disabling your advertisement-blocking plugin on the Jungle to help support the site and let us grow!
We also show significantly less advertisements to registered users, so create your account to benefit from this!
Questions or concerns about this ad? Take a screenshot and comment in the thread. We do value your feedback.
Lessons from Ireland - part 1

This is the first of three or four threads about an episode in Irish history.

I am not an expert on Irish history by any means, and none of my ancestors are Irish. So I might not have all of the pertinent facts. I might get some stuff wrong, but that's what you guys are here for. Let me know.

This thread is about the potato famine.  For decades English and Scottish Lords had pushed the Irish people off of their land. They took the land that was considered best for growing wheat and grazing sheep and cows. The native Irish were left with lots of people but little land, and the only way they could sustain themselves was growing potatoes. The potato produced a lot more calories per acre and was a much better source of vitamins and minerals than what they had before. By the 1840s, the potato had actually prevented famines all over Europe many times, and there were poor farmers all over Europe, just like the Irish, who were totally dependent on the potato. When the potato blight struck, potato crops failed not just in Ireland but also France and Germany and Poland and Italy.

But the starvation was much worse in Ireland. The wheat crop and the barley crop in Ireland did not fail. Neither did the oats. In fact these grains were shipped to Southampton and Liverpool nearly every day from Ireland. Nearly everyone in Ireland, except for the large landowners who lived most of the year in Great Britain, could see the injustice.