Create Account

Board Performance Issues We are aware of performance issues on the board and are working to resolve them! The board may be intermittently unavailable during this time. (May 07) x

The Jungle is self-supported by showing advertisements via Google Adsense.
Please consider disabling your advertisement-blocking plugin on the Jungle to help support the site and let us grow!
We also show significantly less advertisements to registered users, so create your account to benefit from this!
Questions or concerns about this ad? Take a screenshot and comment in the thread. We do value your feedback.
Computer people help me out!

Long story short my son is 14 now and he like many other kids his age is interested in computers and technology. Listen I’m a blue collar mechanic I don’t understand computers but I understand my oldest son.

For years I thought I’d send him to a trade school and he’d learn a blue collar skill my life would’ve been 100 times easier had someone done that for me, but as he gets older I’m seeing he probably doesn’t want to be involved in the trades work. 

So with that thought what kind of stuff can I expose him too or developmental training would be beneficial for him down the road in regards to computers. I mean he is a freshman in high school now(ugh I’m getting old) so is there a good trade school for computer careers? I always heard IT tech was a ripoff or is it like blue collar jobs you take the suck job at the start and work your way up? He’s smart but I don’t really think he’s college smart he doesn’t have a big passion for school. My daughter she’s the college student but I got some time with her. My focus is the oldest son right now.

Thanks
[Image: 5_RdfH.gif]

We show less advertisements to registered users. Accounts are free; join today!